European Department

  • Head: Samvel Mkrtchyan

The European Department of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs comprises the First and Second Divisions for Bilateral Relations, as well as the Council of Europe (CoE) and European Union (EU) Divisions.

The First and Second Bilateral Divisions are responsible for the relations with Western European and Eastern European countries respectively. Responsibilities include but are not limited to the formulation of the RA policy toward these states, definition of priorities, facilitation of the political dialogue, creation of the conducive environment for the establishment of a legal framework and development of the trade and economic relations.

Toward that end, the Department participates in the organization of high-level visits and bilateral consultations. The Department is involved in the works of the bilateral intergovernmental commissions. The European Department maintains daily contacts with the Armenian Embassies and Permanent Representations in Europe, as well as with the European Ambassadors accredited in Yerevan. The Department is also involved in the activities aimed at the enhancement of cooperation in the educational and cultural areas.

The Council of Europe Division is responsible for presenting and defending Armenia’s priorities in the mentioned international structure and multilateral cooperation with other member states.

Responsibilities of the EU Divisions encompass coordination of the activities related to the development, discussion, presentation and promotion of the topics on the Armenia-EU agenda of cooperation. The Department conducts its activities in close cooperation with the RA Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe and European Union, as well as with the representations of the mentioned international bodies in Armenia. 

  • EU Division

    Head: Lena Terzikyan

  • First Division For Bilateral Relations

    Head: Davit Asoyan

  • Second Division For Bilateral Relations

    Head: Hayk Khemchyan

  • Council Of Europe Division

    Head: Susanna Adamyan

Print the page