The first trilateral meeting in Armenia-Greece-Cyprus format was held in Nicosia

04 June, 2019

On June 4, the first trilateral meeting in Armenia-Greece-Cyprus format was held in Nicosia, with the participation of the Foreign Ministers Zohrab Mnatsakanyan, Giorgos Katrougalos, and Nikos Christodoulides.

The Foreign Ministers agreed on the establishment of a trilateral Armenia-Greece-Cyprus partnership, aimed at promoting peace, stability, and prosperity through enhanced political dialogue and cooperation amongst the three countries.

Tհe Ministers of Foreign Affairs highlighted that the launch of cooperation in this format indicates joint readiness to promote active cooperation at the trilateral level and to develop effective contacts for the benefit of the participating States and peoples. In that context, the Foreign Ministers reaffirmed their commitment to expanding and deepening the cooperation in many areas of mutual interest such as economy, trade, investments, information technologies and innovation, tourism and culture.

The participants outlined the further steps to be taken within the trilateral format. In this regard, a decision was made to held the trilateral summit on the level of the leaders of the countries in Armenia in January 2020.

Foreign Ministers Mnatsakanyan, Katrougalos, and Christodoulides exchanged views on the expansion and strengthening of effective collaboration within the frameworks of international institutions and multilateral platforms.

The Ministers of Foreign Affairs of the three countries touched upon a number of urgent issues on the regional and international agenda. In this context, Foreign Minister Zohrab Mnatsakanyan presented to his counterparts the latest developments in the process of the peaceful resolution of Nagorno-Karabakh issue, Armenia's approaches to and principled position on the solution of the issue.

In the context of Armenia-EU relations, the Foreign Ministers of Cyprus and Greece expressed their support for the latter’s strengthening within the frameworks of both the Eastern Partnership and the Armenia-EU Comprehensive and Enhanced Partnership Agreement.

At the end of the meeting, Ministers of Foreign Affairs of Armenia, Greece, and Cyprus issued a joint statement. The Foreign Ministers made statements for press on the outcomes of the meeting.

On the same day, Foreign Ministers of Armenia, Greece, and Cyprus, Zohrab Mnatsakanyan, Giorgos Katrougalos, and Nikos Christodoulides met with Nicos Anastasiades, President of Cyprus.


Print the page