On the decision about restrictions of the entry of foreign nationals to the territory of the European Union

17 March, 2020

On March 17, the leaders of EU member states agreed on the proposal of the President of the European Commission to impose a 30-day restriction (the period can be further expanded, if necessary) on "European Union +1" territory for "non-vital" trips by nationals of other countries (which includes all Schengen countries and 4 Associated Member States - Switzerland, Iceland, Norway and Liechtenstein, as well as Ireland and the United Kingdom, if both countries decide to join this restrictions).

This restriction will not affect the following persons without EU citizenship

  • Long term resident status holders
  • Family members of the EU citizens
  • Medical staff, Healthcare professionals
  • Border guards
  • Persons transporting goods
  • Diplomats, the staff of International organizations, military staff and specialists providing humanitarian aid while carrying out their professional duties
  • Transit passengers, including those who were repatriated with consular support
  • Persons who travel on urgent family matters
  • Persons who need international protection or if other humanitarian reasons are applicable.

EU member states must ensure the implementation of this restriction.

The proposed restriction will not apply to the citizens of the United Kingdom and the associate members of the Schengen area, 4 non-EU member states - Switzerland, Iceland, Norway and Liechtenstein. It is noteworthy that the UK has not announced entry bans from other countries to its territory.

Print the page