International organisations


The OSCE is one of the largest regional political organizations dealing with the security issues. As of today it encompasses 57 participating states from Europe, Central Asia and North America.

OSCE approaches to security are multidimensional and comprehensive, entailing specific “basket” of issues ranging from the politico-military and economic-environmental aspects to the human dimension. From the OSCE perspective they are closely interrelated and intertwined and each of the baskets is crucial for maintaining comprehensive and indivisible peace and security in the OSCE area. Early warning, conflict prevention, crisis management and post-conflict rehabilitation are among the priorities of the Organization. Decisions of the OSCE have politically binding character and are adopted by the rule of consensus.

The OSCE decision-making bodies are:

  • Summit
  • Ministerial Council
  • Permanent Council
  • Forum for Security Co-operation

The OSCE Chairmanship-in-Office (CiO) is set for one year period to lead, coordinate and execute all other duties necessary for the management of the Organization. Current OSCE CiO is Slovakia. It is supported by the former and next Chairmanships, which together with the chairing country form an OSCE Troika – currently Italy, Slovakia and Albania. The OSCE Secretariat provides operational support to the Organization; it assists the CiO and the participating States in their activities. The Secretariat is headed by the Secretary General and located in Vienna.

The OSCE institutions are.

  • Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights (ODIHR)
  • High Commissioner on National Minorities
  • Representative on Freedom of the Media

The Parliamentary Assembly of the OSCE is the platform of inter-parliamentary relations and cooperation.

The OSCE has established a web of field missions with the aim of organizing its activities more efficiently and better coordinating with the participating States, as well as for raising awareness on the goals and principles of the Organization.

The negotiation process on the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is mediated by the OSCE Minsk Group Co-Chairs (Russia, USA, France).

In 1995, the OSCE Chairman-in-Office appointed a Personal Representative of the CiO with the mandate to represent the OSCE Chairmanship in issues related to Nagorno-Karabakh conflict. Ambassador Andrzej Kasprzyk of Poland was appointed Personal Representative in January 1997, after having been Acting Personal Representative since July 1996. His Office serves as the only OSCE permanent presence in the area of Nagorno-Karabakh conflict.

Armenia - OSCE Cooperation

Armenia has acceded to the OSCE since January 30, 1992.

Since 11 January 2019 the head of the Permanent Mission of the Republic of Armenia to the OSCE is Armen Papikyan, the Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the Republic of Armenia to the Republic of Austria.

On 31 August 2017 the OSCE Office in Yerevan discontinued its operations after Azerbaijan vetoed the decision on the extension of its mandate. After the closure of the OSCE Yerevan Office the Republic of Armenia and the OSCE Secretariat have negotiated a new framework of cooperation, Armenia Cooperation Programme, with the aim to continue programmatic cooperation between Armenia and OSCE. Armenia Cooperation Programme entails number of projects across all three dimensions of OSCE based on the needs and priorities of the Republic of Armenia.

In the Parliamentary Assembly of the OSCE Armenia is represented by the parliamentary delegation of the National Assembly consisting of H. Konjoryan (head of delegation, “My Step”), L. Nazaryan (“My Step”), T. Urikhanyan (“Prosperous Armenia”), H. Danielyan (alternate member, “My Step”), M. Karapetyan (alternate member, “My Step”), and A. Samsonyan (alternate member, “Bright Armenia”).

Main Documents:

  • Helsinki Final Act - 1975
  • Charter of Paris for New Europe - 1990
  • Helsinki Document - 1992
  • Budapest Summit Document - 1994
  • Charter for European Security - 1999
  • Astana Commemorative Declaration – 2010

Useful Links

Print the page