Press Releases

Armenian National Commission for UNESCO held its session chaired by the Foreign Minister


On February 2, the session of the Armenian National Commission for UNESCO was held at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, which was chaired by the Commission’s President, Foreign Minister Edward Nalbandian.

The session was attended by Armen Gevorgyan, Chief of the Presidential Administration, Vahe Stepanyan, Chief of Staff of the Government of Armenia, Davit Harutyunyan, Minister of Justice, Levon Mkrtchyan, Minister of Education and Science, Artsvik Minasyan, Minister of Nature Protection, Radik Martirosyan, President of the National Academy of Sciences, Arev Samuelyan, Deputy Minister of Culture, Tigran Khachatryan, Deputy Minister of Economic Development and Investments, Gabriel Ghazaryan, Deputy Minister of Sport and Youth Affairs, as well as representatives of Mother See of Holy Etchmiadzin, Municipality of Yerevan, “Matenadaran” Scientific Research Institute Foundation, Hovhannes Tumanyan Museum and Komitas Museum-Institute.

At the opening of the session, Edward Nalbandian summarised the activities of the National Commission for UNESCO in 2016-2017, touched upon the steps to be taken with the aim of further deepening the involvement of Armenia within the UNESCO, and the programmes planned for 2018-2019.

Members of the Commission presented proposals on various aspects of cooperation within the framework of UNESCO.

The participants discussed issues related to interagency cooperation, preservation of cultural heritage, proposals for the UNESCO Calendar of anniversaries, as well as nominations for the inscription in the UNESCO’s Representative List of the Intangible Cultural Heritage.

Related pictures

Full album »

Share |