International organisations


The Collective Security Treaty was signed by Armenia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan on May 15, 1998.

Article 4 is the key part of the Treaty, which runs as follows: “If one of the Member States undergoes aggression, it will be considered by the Member States as aggression to all the Member States of this Treaty.

In case of aggression commission to any of the Member States, all the other Member States at request of this Member State shall immediately provide the latter with the necessary help, including military one, as well as provide support by the means at their disposal in accordance with the right to collective defense pursuant to article 51 of the UN Charter.”

The Treaty also designates a mechanism for consultations in case of a threat to safety, territorial integrity and sovereignty of one or more member-states or a threat to international peace and security. It also designates additional agreements between the member-states for regulation of other issues relating to the cooperation in the realm of collective security.

In 1993, Azerbaijan, Belarus and Georgia joined the Treaty. The treaty came into effect on April 20, 1994 for 5-year period. Six member-states signed a protocol renewing the treaty for another five-year period in 1999 (except Azerbaijan, Georgia and Uzbekistan).

The Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO) was established on May 14, 2002. The Charter of the Organization was adopted on October 7, 2002. The CSTO became an observer organization at the United Nations General Assembly on December 2, 2004.

Armenia is a founding member of the Collective Security Treaty Organization. Membership in the CSTO is among the security components of Armenia, which is realized via multilateral ties between the member states.

The Collective Security Council, consisting of the heads of member-states, is the highest body of the CSTO. The head of the country chairing in the Organization is the Chairman of the Collective Security Council.

The consultative and executive organs of the CSTO are the Council of Foreign Ministers (realizing the foreign policy coordination of the CSTO member-states), Council of Defense Ministers (realizing cooperation between the member states in the spheres of military policy, military building and military-technical interaction), and the Committee of Secretaries of the Security Councils (in charge of national security issues).

The Permanent Council of the CSTO coordinates activities regarding realization of the decisions of the CSTO bodies in the period between the sessions of the Collective Security Council. The Permanent Council consists of the Permanent and Plenipotentiary Representatives of the member-states.

The Secretariat and Joint Staff (functioning since 2004) of the Organization are the constantly operating working bodies of the CSTO.

The Parliamentary Assembly of the CSTO was created on the basis of the Interparliamentary Assembly of the CIS participating states on November 16, 2006. In accordance with the amendments of the Charter made in December 2010, the Parliamentary Assembly is the body realizing the Interparliamentary cooperation of the Organization.

The task put forward by the Collective Security Council of the CSTO in 2006 on the transformation of the Organization into the multifunctional structure of countering all the spectrum of challenges and threats to the security of the member-states is being carried out. The member states made decisions on the creation of the Peacekeeping Forces, Coordinating Council on Emergency Situations, Councils on Illegal Migration and Illegal Drug Circulation, as well as Working Group on Afghanistan. The Working Groups on Issues of Combatting Terrorism and Countering Illegal Migration, Information Policy and Security are functioning under the Committee of Secretaries of the Security Councils. The international complex anti-drug operation “KANAL”, operation “NELEGAL” countering illegal migration, as well as operation PROXY are carried out under the auspices of the CSTO annually.

The Agreement on the Operative Reaction Collective Forces of the CSTO was initialed on June 14, 2009. Joint complex drills are being carried out on regular basis with the involvement of contingents and operative groups of the member-states.

Within the framework of the military-technical cooperation, the mechanisms of providing arms and special supplies, military-technical assistance to the member-states of the CSTO are constantly developing. The joint preparation of the military personnel has been developed. The Intergovernmental Committee on Military-Technical Cooperation of the CSTO is functioning since 2006.

Armenia assumed the chairmanship in all the statutory bodies of the at the course of the September session of the Collective Security Council held in 2015. The President of the Republic of Armenia Serzh Sargsyan introduced the priorities of the Armenian chairmanship in the Organization during the session of the Collective Security Council.

The results of the Armenian presidency in the CSTO were summed up at the Yerevan summit of the CSTO held on October 14, 2016.

During the chairmanship of Armenia in the CSTO, concise steps were taken in the direction of further development of cooperation in the CSTO. The activities aimed raising the Organization’s potential, taking into account the goals and objectives defined by the Collective Security Treaty. The number of decisions made at the course of the session exceeds 20, including the “The CSTO Collective Security Strategy up to 2025”, the Statement of the Heads of CSTO Member-States, and the Statement of the Heads of CSTO Member-States on Nagorno Karabakh Conflict.

Assuming the chairmanship in the Organization, Armenia focused on the accomplishment and strengthening foreign policy coordination, issues regarding further development of CSTO collective security forces and means management system, including the Collective Forces of Operative Reaction, joint events dedicated to operative and combat training. Issues regarding perfection of legal basis, mechanisms of cooperation and expansion of the practical cooperation in the military-industrial sphere, as well as jointly combatting international terrorism were in the center of attention and relevant decisions were made.

The sessions of the Organization’s statutory bodies and consultations of the working bodies held in Armenia also focused on all these issues. The session of the Council of Ministers of Foreign Affairs was held in Armenia on July 4, 2016. The joint session of the Council of Council of Foreign Minister, Council of Defense Ministers, and the Committee of Secretaries of the Security Councils took place on October 14, 2016.

The informal meetings of the Ministers of Foreign Affairs of the CSTO member-states also focus on the foreign policy coordination, which are held “on the sidelines” on UN GA and OSCE Ministerial Conference, which were held on September 21, 2016 in New York and in Hamburg on December 8, 2016.

Share |